Friday Favourites! Movie Edition

11 Jan

Today I’m counting down my top 5 favourite movies of all time!

5. My Big Fat Greek Wedding

My Big Fat Greek Wedding

Courtesy of DVDs Release Dates

Its hard to imagine that this movie was released over 10 years ago back in 2002. I’m a big fan of comedies so ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ was just up my alley. I have always been fascinated by the Greek culture and I thought this was an absolutely hilarious movie that had me laughing the entire time.

4. The Hangover

The Hangover

Photo courtesy of UBC Film Society

Sticking to the comedy genre, coming in at number four is ‘The Hangover’. This movie to start was absolutely hilarious, and I feel like everyone could relate to it in a weird way. Everyone has those nights that are hard to remember and does things that at the time seem absolutely stupid, but when you look back at them are some of the best memories of your life. That’s why I think this movie was so successful and loved by so many people including me.

3. Pretty Woman

Pretty Woman

Photo courtesy of IMDb

The story of a wealthy business man falling in love with a prostitute. Not a likely story but yet this plot was why this movie is my third favourite of all time.

One of the things I loved about this film was that it was so different from everything on the market. It definitely doesn’t fit into the love story cookie cutter mould. While on the exterior this movie may appear to be about two unlikely strangers falling in love, underneath it all the message is to never underestimate the intelligence and capabilities of a person based on their exterior (don’t judge a book by its cover).

2. Mean Girls

mean girls

Photo courtesy of Art Ed

Okay I struggled with this one. I loved and still love this movie soo much that it almost made the number one spot! Back when Lindsay Lohan was in her prime, this movie caught the attention and hearts of just about every girl. The amazing one liners, unforgettable Christmas dance and who could forget, ‘You go Glen Coco’

Ahh I love this movie! I’ve seen it over 26 times and I still can’t get enough!

1. The Lion King!!!

lion king

Photo courtesy of Hark.com

Where does my love affair with ‘The Lion King’ even begin? To start I’ve watched the movie well over 500 times (twice a day for a year and a half when I was five years old). If you don’t believe me the stats are backed up by my mom. I’ve seen the Broadway play, I’ve sung ‘The Circle of Life’ in front of my entire high school during an assembly and I even auditioned to be baby Nala in the broadway play (not one of my finer moments lol).

I believe I first watched ‘The Lion King’ when I was three years old. From then you could say I was hooked like a drug addict. Between the amazing soundtrack, fantastic animation and the way the movie could draw you in and make you feel as though you’re an animal walking towards Pride Rock in the middle of the savanna, makes ‘The Lion King’ my favorite movie of all time!

I really don’t think any movie could ever compete, in my heart at least, to ‘The Lion King’.

~Love Always, Taylor LN~

Leave a Reply

